OAU Alumnus wins Rotary scholarship grant in America


An alumnus of the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, Izehi Oriaghan has won a scholarship grant courtesy the Rotary Foundation in the United States of America.

Ms. Oriaghan along with John Mensah were named new Rotary Foundation Global Grant Scholars. The duo are currently first-year students at the Clinton School of Public Service, University of Arkansas.

EduCeleb.com gathered that they will each receive a $45,000 scholarship that can be used to cover academic, personal and travel costs associated with the Clinton School program.

The grant is sponsored by Rotary District 6150, which includes parts of Central and Northeast Arkansas, and District Governor Nancy Leonhardt in cooperation with 12 Rotary Districts in the United States.

Ms. Oriaghan had her Bachelor’s degree in International Relations at OAU. She thereafter worked at the Senior Administrative Officer at the Lagos Waste Management Authority (LAWMA) under the Lagos State Ministry of the Environment. She also volunteered as a development knowledge facilitator on the Millennium Development Goals Community Advocacy Project.

Oriaghan’s public service interests include international development, international economics and environmental politics.

Izehi Oriaghan
John Mensah

Her co-winner, Mr. Mensah is a graduate of the University of Cape Coast, Ghana with a degree in social sciences. He worked as an assistant field officer with the Ghanian Ministry of Gender, Children, and Social Protection.

ALSO READ:  Abiodun named education governor of the year

As a volunteer, he was a liaison with the District Social Development Officers, helping to get low-income people enrolled in social intervention plans in rural communities.

Mr. Mensah’s public service interests include international politics, poverty reduction, and economic and community development.

Oriaghan and Mensah join current students Darlynton Adegor (Delta, Nigeria) and Vinay Raj (Chennai, India) and graduates Demas Soliman (Alexandria, Egypt) and Arjola Limani (Tirana, Albania) as Rotary Foundation Global Grant Scholars from the Clinton School.

Reacting to the feat in a statement, Clinton School Dean, Skip Rutherford expressed gratitude to Rotary for being great advocates of education.

“We are most grateful to Rotary for again awarding these prestigious scholarships to two outstanding Clinton School students. We also very much appreciate the work of Dr. Bob Warner of Jonesboro and others who are strong advocates of higher education,” Rutherford said.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.