Nigeria plans 6 new federal colleges of education


The Nigerian federal government has approved an establishment and immediate take-off of new six Federal Colleges of Education in each of the geo-political zone in the country.

According to the public relations officer of National Commission for Colleges of Education, Mr Isaac Ameh, the newly approved institutions would be situated in Bauchi, Benue, Ebonyi, Osun, Sokoto, and Edo states, where there were no presence of Federal Colleges of Education. understands that Nigeria currently has 22 colleges of education owned by the federal government aside other Nigeria Certificate in Education (NCE) awarding institutions spread across the country.

This move, it is believed, would increase the number of quality teachers in the country.

Mr Ameh noted that details on the take-off of the institutions would be made published through the committee set up by the Federal Ministry of Education to be chaired by Permanent Secretary of Education.

On his part, the Executive Secretary of the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Muhammadu Bappa-Aliyu, commended the federal government for its effort to establishing additional Federal Colleges of Education in all the six geo-political zones in the country.

ALSO READ:  Federal polytechnics, colleges of education get governing councils

Bappa-Aliyu, a professor, said the newly approved colleges would not only create more job of opportunities for Nigerians but would also improve standard of education and increase quality teachers in the country.

He also appealed to the host communities, where the institutions will be sited to give maximum supports that will aid smooth take-off of the institutions.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.