UNIJOS promotes 25 academic staff to the rank of professors

Sebastian Maimako, University of Jos Vice-Chancellor

Twenty-Five (25) academic staff of the University of Jos (UNIJOS) have been promoted to the rank of Professor in different fields.

A statement by the Deputy Registrar’s Information and Publication, Abdullahi Abdullahi noted that the promotions were approved by the University’s Appointments and Promotion Committee (Senior Staff) at its 136th regular meeting chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Seddi Sebastian Maimako.

“The Academic Staff promoted to the rank of Professor are: Dr. D.B. Bawa from the Department of Agricultural Economics & Extension; Dr. Ishaya Y. Longdet, Department of Biochemistry; Dr. Tolulope M. Ogboru, Department of Commercial Law; Dr. Salome K. Kigbu, Department of of Private Law; Dr. Ojo Perpetua Odugbo, Department of Ophthalmology and Dr. Olukorede O. Adenuga, Department of Ophthalmology. Others are Dr. Ademiju-Bepo Adeniran Kayode Moses, Department of Theatre & Film Arts; Dr. Abdur-Rahman Lawal, Department of Religious Studies; Dr. Momoh Grace Ohunene, Department of Educational Foundations and Dr. Damulak Obadiah Dapus, Department of Haematology & Blood Transfusion.

“Also promoted are: Dr. Enighe Jeno-Mary, Department of Arts Education; Dr. Mustapha Abbas Yusuf, Department of Educational Foundations; Dr. Gloria Olatunde Ojo, Department of Arts Education; Dr. Ali Ahmed Difa, Department of Plant Science Technology and Dr. Ogberohwo Enoh Pius, Department of Physics. Similarly promoted to the Professorial rank are Dr. Momoh Abuh, Department of Geology; Dr Yohanna Jael Asabe, Department of Zoology; Dr Stephen Akinyemi Akintunde, Department of Library; Dr Elemukan Sunday Isaiah, Department of Special Education & Rehabilitation Science; Dr Bature Nakah Bitrus, Department of Economics and Dr Chris Michael Kuju, Department of Foreign Languages.

ALSO READ:  Lessons from the Finland education system

Dr Ladi Nora Daduut, Department of Foreign Languages and Dr Mathilda E. Banwat, Department of Community Medicine have also now been elevated to the rank of Full Chair.

“Those who were promoted to the rank of Professor took effect from 1st October, 2018 are: Dr. Zubairu Kwambo Dagona, Department of Psychology and Dr. Augustine Izadi Anakwe, Department of Educational Foundation”, the statement said.

The latest promotion exercise of UNIJOS also saw the elevation of 282 Non-Teaching Staff of the University to various higher ranks.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to: info@educeleb.com.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.