Fresh governing council chair lists includes Olanipekun, Banire, Shittu, 253 others


President Bola Tinubu has approved the reconstitution of governing councils and boards for federal tertiary institutions in the country

This is disclosed in a statement released by Nnamdi Mbaeri, the permanent secretary in the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) on Friday, June 14.

Among those appointed is Bisi Akande, former interim national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who is to chair the University of Ibadan’s governing council, and Wole Olanipekun, a senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN) and his lawyer in the 2023 election, to chair the University of Lagos council.

Adebayo Shittu, a former federal minister of communications is appointed to chair the King David University of Medical Sciences in Ebonyi State while Muiz Banire and Florence Ita Giwa have been appointed to lead the councils of the Federal University of Transportation in Katsina state and the Federal Polytechnic in Ugep, Cross River state, respectively.

Isa Yuguda, a former governor of Bauchi, will chair the National Open University’s governing council; Siyan Oyeweso will chair Obafemi Awolowo University’s council.

In total, 255 individuals were appointed to chair the governing councils of the federal tertiary institutions in the country along with four members for each institution being chaired.

ALSO READ:  List of predatory journals across the world understands that this fresh list nullifies the one earlier released on May 18, which critics say is fraught with a lot of lopsidedness.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.