List of Nigerian Universities with NUC Approved Affiliate Institutions


Every university in Nigeria operates with accreditation by the  National Universities Commission (NUC) to award degrees and diplomas. There are also a number of other institutions that award degrees in affiliation to the universities. presents you the approved list of affiliation of some Nigerian universities with Colleges of Education, Seminaries/ Theological and other Educational Institutions. Note that this differs from the over 160 NUC approved list of universities in Nigeria.

In the event that you can’t find one of the affiliated schools you wish to attend on this list, it is advised that you don’t attend such schools as they may not have been accredited by the NUC. Thus, degrees obtained through such schools may not be recognised in Nigeria for the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC), academic or career advancement.

Things to know about NUC Approved Affiliate Institutions

  • They are not universities but students enrolled through them can get awarded degrees
  • They continue to run their regular programmes differently from the NUC accredited programmes that award degrees
  • Candidates interested in courses affiliated to the universities have to write the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) like their counterparts on the main campuses
  • Degree awarding programmes in such institutions are closely monitored by their parent schools
  • Students in such approved programmes may be awarded degrees of their parent university
  • Students there may be eligible for the NYSC provided that their parent institutions forward their names to the body
ALSO READ:  Teachers' Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN) Offices Nationwide

List of Nigerian Universities with NUC Approved Affiliate Institutions

The list is as follows,

1. Bayero University Kano

  • Federal College of Education, Katsina

2. Delta State University, Abraka

  • College of Education, Warri
  • College of Education, Agbor

3. Federal University of Technology, Minna

  • Federal College of Education (Technical) Potiskum

4. Imo State University, Owerri

  • Claretian Institute of Philosophy, Nekede
  • Seat of Wisdom Seminary, Owerri

5. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka

  • Enugu State College Of Education (Technical), Enugu
  • Pope John Paul II Major Seminary, Okpuno, Awka

6. University of Ado-Ekiti

  • Michael Otedola College of Primary Education, Noforija, Epe Lagos
  • Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo
  • Kwara State College of Education, Oro
  • Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin
  • Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education Otto, Ijanikin, Lagos

7. University of Benin, Benin-City

  • Seminary of all Saints, Ekpoma

8. University of Calabar, Calabar

  • Nigerian Christian Bible Church
  • Reformed Theological Seminary, Mkar
  • Catholic Institute of West Africa, Port Harcourt
  • Essien Ukpabio Presbyterian College Itu, Akwa Ibom

9. University of Ibadan

  • Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu
  • Archbishop Vining College Of Theology, Akure
  • Christ Apostolic Church (CAC) Theological Seminary, Ile-Ife
  • St Augustine’s College Of Education Akoka, Lagos
  • Osun State College Of Education, Ilesa
  • SS Peter And Paul Seminary, Bodija, Ibadan
  • Immanuel College of Theology And Christian Education, Samonda, Ibadan
  • Dominican Institute, Samonda, Ibadan
  • ECWA Theological Seminary, Igbaja
  • UMCA, Ilorin
  • Nigeria Baptist Theological Seminary, Ogbomoso
ALSO READ:  FUOYE gets NUC approval to offer more postgraduate courses

10. University of Jos

  • Federal College of Education, Pankshin
  • National Film Institute, Jos

11. University of Maiduguri

  • Umar Ibn Ibrahim El-Kanemi College of Education, Science and Technology, Bama
  • College of Education, Azare, Bauchi State
  • College of Education, Gashua, Yobe State
  • Federal College of Education (Technical), Gombe

12. University of Nigeria

  • St. Paul’s College, Awka
  • Yaba College of Technology Lagos
  • College Of Education, Ikere-Ekiti (Regular)
  • Spiritan Int’l School of Theology, Attakwu, Enugu
  • Spiritan School of Philosophy, Issienu, Nsukka
  • Trinity Theological College, Umuaiha
  • West Africa Theological Seminary, Ipaja, Lagos
  • College of Education, Nsugbe
  • Digital Bridge Institute, Abuja

13. University of Port Harcourt

  • National Missionary Seminary of St. Paul, Gwagwalada, Abuja
  • Methodists Theological institute, Umuahia
  • Baptist College of Theology, Obinze, Owerri

14. University of Uyo

  • St. Joseph Major Seminary, Ikot Ekpene
  • Assemblies of God Divinity School, Old Umuahia
  • The Apostolic Church Theological Seminary, Amumara
  • The Samuel Bill Theological College, Abak
  • Osun State College Of Education, Ila-Orangun (Regular)

15. Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto

  • Niger State College of Education
  • Shehu Shagari College of Education, Sokoto
  • Digital Bridge Institute, Abuja.
For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:
ALSO READ:  Not too old to learn: 5 octogenarians who earned a PhD


  1. Where are Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri; Federal College of Education, Kano; Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo; and the Federal College of Education, Zaria?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.