LASU staff emerges Lagos NLC chair


A senior member of staff at the Lagos State University (LASU), Funmi Agnes Sessi was on Thursday, 25th April, 2019 elected the Chairperson of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Lagos Branch.

Mrs Sessi who is a member of the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) was among the fifteen newly elected executive members of the NLC Lagos.

She emerged so at the Quadrennial State Delegates Conference of the labour union held at Combo Hall, Ikeja, the Lagos State capital.

Sessi joined the services of the LASU Health Centre in 1998 and is currently the Chief Nursing Officer there. She had also worked at Elphy Specialist Hospital and Crystal Specialist Hospital, both in Lagos.

Born on 16th November, 1969, the Badagry-born administrator is an alumna of both LASU and the University of Lagos (UNILAG), where she studied Health Education.

She had earlier trained as a nurse at the School of Nursing, University College Hospital (UCH) Ibadan and midwife at the School of Midwifery, Sacred Heart Hospital, Abeokuta.

She had promised delegates to the congress to take NLC “to the next level of reorganisation, reorientation and excellent height.”

ALSO READ:  Hult Prize: LAUTECH team to represent Nigeria in London for $1m prize gathered that aside Sessi, both Mr Gbadamosi Adelaja and Mr Tajudeen Ishola emerged Vice Chairmen.

Other elected officers include Mr Ajose Afolabi who emerged the Treasurer, while Mr Awojide Olurotimi and Mr Hamzat Adisa got elected Auditors.

Mrs Medinat Balogun and Mrs Folashade Ogunjobi became the Ex-officio members.

The Chairmen of sub-committees of the NLC Lagos were Mr Dare Durosimi who would be chairing the Publicity committee of NLC Lagos. Mr Oguntunase Sesan heads the Finance Committee while Adele Adewale mans the Political Committee.

The outsourcing /Anti-Casualisation committee is headed by Mr Igene Paul Ayere while the Education Committee has Adetona Oluwatoyi as its head.

The welfare committee has Mr Adebola Oniyide as its lead while Mr Ayanpitan Rasheed oversees the Transport and Logistics Committee.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.