YOA Foundation holds second annual mathematics competition

NTI PGDE registration
Join our Google Group

With memories of the 1st edition still fresh, Yeye Oge of Akesan Kingdom, Aminat Olawunmi Ige hosted the 2nd edition of the YOA Foundation Annual Mathematics competition in grand style.

The event had about 200 junior secondary school girls from schools within the 6 LCDAs in Alimosho Local Government Area compete for a grand prize of One hundred thousand naira (N100,000) and other prizes.

After the registration and accreditation stages, the girls competed in a 1hr examination which produced 7 girls as finalists, 7 more as Award qualifiers and 2 girls as outstanding JS 1 students who participated in the JSCE standard based competition.

On Saturday 30th November 2019, commercial activities in Akesan town experienced a big boost as contestants, awardees, parents, teachers, special guests and well-wishers made their way to Akesan Town Hall which was filled to the brim.

Everyone was anxious to see the 7 brilliant finalists compete live for the grand prize with the suspense of who goes home with the fat cheque!

Harriet Abanum, Folasayo Ogundare, Moyin-Oluwa Ajulo, Lawal Ikeoluwa, Mustaphar Ifeoluwa, Adegbite Oluwafanuhanmi and Obisesan Oyinkansola competed by answering mathematical questions in 20 seconds.

ALSO READ:  Akeredolu, Akinjobi, others for test of orals discourse, book launch

After several rounds of questions, Oyinkansola Obisesan emerged the winner of YOAAMC 2019 edition.

She was flanked left and right by her parents, teachers and siblings as she expressed her joy.

Oyinkansola went home with 2 certificates, 1 Medal, a tablet phone and N100,000 in scholarship.

Folasayo Ogundare came 2nd and she got 2 Certificates, 1 Medal and a tablet phone while Harriet Abanum came 3rd and she went home with 2 certificates, 1 Medal and 1 giant blender.

The four finalists got branded school bags and a certificate each as consolation prizes.

Seven other outstanding girls; Ameen Semiat, Osoba Feranmi, Ogu Adanma, Adeyemi Alexandra, Oluyeba Ebunoluwa, Saheed Rukayat and Kolawole Toluwanimi got award certificates.

Two JSS1 girls, Elizabeth Agbaje and Basheerah Ige also got awards in the Young Shall Grow category for their outstanding performances despite being just 1 month into secondary school when they competed.

The event was chaired by a legislator in the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mr Kehinde Joseph while a former Special Adviser to the Governor on Housing, Jimoh Ajao was the special guest of honour.

Among other special guests were the Director of Sandwich Degree Studies at the Lagos State University (LASU) Professor Basirat Oladipupo ably represented by Dr.(Mrs.) Yahaya, Principal Partner Schedule Attorneys & DPO Igando Police Station, Dr Taiwo Kasumu, Chairman NULGE Igando-Ikotun, Mr Adeshina Arowosafe, the Financial Controller FSDH Asset Management, Mr Shehu Jamiu, and the Chief Executive of Akande Adeleye Enterprises, Mr Suleiman Adeleye. and many more.

ALSO READ:  Teachers invited to attend the AVwE Teachers Empowerment​ Program

The participants acknowledged the event as a worthy step in boosting girl-child education.

The founder, YOA Foundation, Mrs Aminat Ige expressed her gratitude to sponsors, YOAAMC 2019 Organizing team, schools, guests and all well-wishers.

The young mathematician cum philanthropist also hinted that the 3rd edition coming up in year 2020 is already pregnant with pleasant surprises.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to: info@educeleb.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.