Senate passes bill establishing Federal University Gashua, five others


The Nigerian Senate on Wednesday passed a bill seeking to establish the Federal University Gashua in Yobe State.

It also passed five other bills to give legal backing to Federal Universities and Polytechnics across several States of the Federation.

The upper chamber also passed an amendment bill on the Federal Polytechnic Daura Act.

The bills passed by the Senate seek to establish the Federal Polytechnic, Orogun; Federal College of Education, Illo; Federal University of Education, Kontagora; Federal Polytechnic, Daura; Modibbo Adama University of Technology, and Federal University of Agriculture and Technology, Funtua.

The passage of the seven bills was sequel to the consideration of the reports of the Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND chaired by Senator Babba Kaita Ahmad (APC, Katsina North).

Meanwhile, the Senate on Wednesday referred President Muhammadu Buhari’s appointees for the position of Chairman and Member of the National Assembly Service Commission (NASC) to the Committee on Establishment and Public Service for further legislative action.

The upper chamber also referred the President’s confirmation request for two additional nominees as members of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

ALSO READ:  Senate seeks establishment of FUTA teaching hospital

Both requests were referred to the respective Committees by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, during plenary.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.