NUC approves three more universities in Imo

NTI PGDE registration
Join our Google Group

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has issued operational licenses to three additional state-owned universities in Imo State.

This is coming barely three weeks after the Imo State government secured that of another one. gathered that Governor Rochas Okorocha led a delegation of state officials and members of the state’s universities implementation committee to the NUC headquarters in Abuja on Tuesday, 7th May to get the approval.

The new universities are the University of Science and Technology, Umuna; the University of Creative Technology, Isiaku/Nkwerre; and the University of Medical Sciences, Ogboko.

Okorocha was received by the Executive Secretary of the NUC, Professor Abubakar Rasheed and other officials of the Commission. recalls that the NUC has in approved the running of degree programmes at the new Imo State University of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine, Umuagwo earlier in April.

These developments are part of the Imo State government under Okorocha aimed at establishing six new universities, two new Colleges of education and two new Polytechnics in the last eight years in office.

These new three make the number of state-owned universities 52 among the 174 universities in Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.