Kaduna replaces education commissioner in cabinet reshuffle

Nasir El-Rufai, Kaduna State Governor
NTI PGDE registration
Join our Google Group

The Kaduna State government has appointed a new Commissioner for Education in an apparent cabinet reshuffle.

Governor Nasir El-rufai of Kaduna State announced the reshuffle through a statement sent to EduCeleb.com by the Special Adviser to the Governor on Media and Communication, Muyiwa Adeleke on Monday.

He said that the move was to also enable the commissioners to have a more rounded experience of government.

The new commissioner is Halima Lawal while her predecessor Shehu Usman Muhammad Makarfi was redeployed to the Ministry of Local Government.

According to the statement titled, ‘KDSG announces cabinet reshuffle, new appointments,’ eight of the 14 commissioners swapped portfolios.

However, the ministries of Finance, Justice, Health, Housing & Urban Development, Internal Security and Home Affairs and Human Services and Social Development, were not affected by the move.

“Muhammad Sani Abdullahi, the Chief of Staff, returns to the Planning and Budget Commission, the responsibility he held with distinction during Malam El-Rufai’s first term.

“It is the second time that a chief of staff to the governor is being reassigned as commissioner. In 2019, Muhammad Bashir Saidu, then chief of staff, was redeployed to the Ministry of Finance,” the statement read in part.

ALSO READ:  ASUU dissociates self from faction against LASU VC selection

The commissioners and their new portfolios are Jaafaru Sani, Environment; Thomas Gyang, Public Works and Infrastructure; Ibrahim Hussaini, Agriculture; Muhammad Sani Abdullahi, Planning & Budget Commission; Kabir Mato, Business, Innovation & Technology; Idris Nyam, Sports Development.

The statement said El-rufai nominated cabinet-rank administrators following the passage of the law creating metropolitan authorities to manage Kaduna, Kafanchan and Zaria as organic cities.

The cabinet-rank administrators are Balaraba Aliyu-Inuwa Administrator, Zaria Metropolitan Authority; Muhammad Hafiz Bayero Administrator, Kaduna Capital Territory, and Phoebe Sukai Yayi Administrator, Kafanchan Municipal Authority.

The Governor also approved the deployment of the following officials: Umma Aboki, Permanent Secretary, Planning and Budget Commission; Murtala Dabo, Executive Chairman, Fiscal Responsibility Commission; Abubakar Hassan, DG, Kaduna State Contributory Health Management Authority (KADCHMA); Tamar Nandul, MD, Kaduna Markets Development and Management Company; Khalil Nur Khalil, ES, Kaduna Investment Promotion Agency (KADIPA), and Maimunatu Abubakar, GM, Kaduna Environmental Protection Agency (KEPA).

The statement said, “Amina Ladan will oversee the Kaduna State Roads Agency (KADRA) following the redeployment of Engineer Muhammad Lawal Magaji to the Ministry of Public Works and Infrastructure.

“The government has also announced the appointments of Professor Mohammed Sani as chairman of the Local Government Service Board; Muhammed Muazu Muqaddas as Executive Secretary of the State Emergency Management Authority (SEMA) and Dr. Shuaibu Shehu Aliyu as Permanent Secretary.

ALSO READ:  Ebonyi govt threatens striking lecturers to resume work

“The governor has nominated Dr. Ishaya Sarki Habu (chairman), Aminu Yusuf Musa, Engr. Rabiu Tanko and Rebecca Nnawo Barde as the new members of the Legislative Service Commission.

“Malam Nasir El-Rufai has conveyed the state government’s gratitude for the service of Aliyu Saidu, former DG-KADCHMA, and Lawal Jibrin, former GM of KEPA, who are leaving the government.”

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to: info@educeleb.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.