PAAU promotes 31 to professorial cadre


The Governing Council of Prince Abubakar Audu University (PAAU), Anyigba, at its 65th Regular Meeting held on Friday, 23rd June, 2023, approved the promotion of four (4) academic staff members to full professors and Twenty-six (26) others to the rank of the reader summing up to 31 lecturers promoted within the professorial cadre.

This elevation to the highest echelon and the last but one stratum of the academic ladder comes after a thorough internal valuation and external assessment of teaching activities, research prowess and community contribution.

Commenting on the promotion exercise, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Marietu Ohunene Tenuche commended the new Professors and Associate Professors.

According to the Vice Chancellor, the promotion was a testimony to their continued dedication, academic excellence, hard work, and discipline.

The Vice-Chancellor further challenged the newly elevated scholars not to rest on their oars but to be more committed to producing insightful and impactful research works that would better the lot of Nigerians and the entire globe.

The University Community, therefore, congratulates the new Professors and Readers and challenges them to blaze the trail in higher quality service to the nation and humanity.

ALSO READ:   If not for them, who else? 

The list of the elevated scholars is as follows:


Professor Owoyemi, Julius Olugbenga Sociology

Professor Adediran, Samson Adewale Accounting

Professor Egwemi, Oja Paul Theatre Arts

Professor Alaba, Obaje Anthony English and Literary Studies


Dr. Ogwu, Chris Attah Mass Communication

Dr. Ude, Alexander Onyebuchi Accounting

Dr. Saad, Murtala Arabic, and Islamic Studies

Dr. Abubakar, N. Muhammed Human Kinetics and Health Education

Dr. Akogu, Simon Peterside Onuche Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Ekpa, Shedrack Jurisprudence and International Law

Dr. Ibrahim Muhammed Kabiru Agric Econs and Extension

Dr. Atanu, Francis Atanu Biochemistry

Dr. Usman, Salisu Ogbo Political Science

Dr. Ujah, John Sule Public Administration

Dr. Achimugwu, Lawrence Science Education (Chemistry)

Dr. Gommet, I. Thomas Sociology

Dr. Anum, Victoria Mass communication

Dr. Ujah, Ofunu Mariam Commercial and Industrial Law

Dr. Adejoh, Patrick Agric Econs and extension

Dr. Owolabi, Joseph Ayodele Physics

Dr. Tanko, U. Musa Crop Production

Dr. Ochala, Isaiah Physics

Dr. Kabo, Sarinus Ettor Public Law

Dr. Sani, Idris Ahmed Economics

Dr. (Mrs) Onimisi, Meriyamoh Mero Fishery and Aquaculture

Dr. Sale, John Friday Pure and Industrial Chemistry

Dr. Okpe, Ameh Alfa Animal Production

ALSO READ:  Postgraduate medical fellowship not equivalent to PhD – NUC

Dr. Achimugu, Hassan Public Administration

Dr. Okpanachi, Anthony Idoko Philosophy

Dr. Adah, Obe Christopher Agric Econs and Extension.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.