NAE elects former UNILAG vice chancellor as president

gray and black hive printed textile
Photo by Iva Muškić on

The Nigerian Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected Rahamon Bello, a former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Lagos (UNILAG), as its new president.

Professor Bello’s inauguration as the 13th president of the academy took place at UNILAG and coincided with the presentation of lifetime achievement awards to eight fellows and the induction of 13 senior engineers as fellows of the academy.

Bello, a Professor of Chemical Engineering and current Chairman of the Governing Council of Tai Solarin University of Education, previously served as the Vice President of the academy from 2022 to 2024 before his new appointment.

He will be supported by Umar Danbatta, the immediate past Executive Vice-Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), as his deputy.

In his address, Bello emphasised the academy’s potential to lead engineering initiatives and influence public policy through its combination of academic and practical expertise.

He highlighted the academy’s focus on promoting technical and vocational education, addressing the shortage of technicians and artisans, and fostering engineering businesses to boost Nigeria’s economy.

The event also featured a public lecture by Joana Maduka, the first female president of NAE, titled “Government-Industry Academia Collaboration in Nigeria’s Technopreneurship Ecosystem.” Maduka stressed the importance of collaborative efforts to foster innovation, economic growth, and sustainable development in Nigeria’s technopreneurship sector.

ALSO READ:  Buhari promises to rescue lone Dapchi school Girl, Leah Sharibu

The academy’s 12th president, Azikwe Onwualu, welcomed the new fellows and emphasized their role in providing expert advice to the government and contributing to public policy.

He encouraged the new inductees to join technical committees and contribute policy papers addressing engineering challenges in Nigeria.

Lifetime achievement awards were presented to notable engineers, including Barnabas Gemade, Lawson Adekoya, Usman Aliyu, Joseph Arumemi-Ikhide, Rahamon Bello, Hammed Gumel, Salihu Mustafa, and Ernest Ndukwe, in recognition of their significant contributions to the engineering profession.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.