Lagos establishes six new public primary schools


The Lagos State Government said it had approved of the establishment of six new public primary schools under the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).

The Executive Chairman of the Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board, Ganiyu Sopeyin, disclosed this in a statement on Wednesday.

He explained that the development was in line with the new government policy on education.

With the new schools, the total number of government primary schools in Lagos State is now 1,016.

The new schools are located in Ojo, Ifako Ijaiye, Oshodi-Isolo, Ikorodu and Ikeja Local Government Areas.

They are Community Primary School, Ibasa, and Community Primary School, Ajewanwa, both in the Ojo Local Government Education Authority (LGEA).

Also established are Oladele Aĺaka Primary School, Ejigbo , Oshodi – Isolo LGEA and Iju Ajuwon Primary School , Ifako-Ijaiye LGEA.

Others are Osho Sholu Primary School, Ewu Oloye, Erunwen, Ikorodu LGEA and Correctional Home for Boys , Oregun, Ikeja.

Dr Sopeyin noted that the policy was to make qualitative and quantitative education available to the teeming children population of school age in the state.

He also added that the Akinwunmi Ambode administration had bridged the gap between public and private primary schools in the state.

ALSO READ:  NUT wants TRCN to prosecute employers of unlicensed teachers

The Lagos SUBEB boss said that public primary schools were now better than their private counterparts, stressing that the standard in public schools had improved tremendously given the improved academic performance of the pupils .

He disclosed further that the state government had decided to pay attention to all children, irrespective of origin, adding that desks , chairs and other educational facilities had been approved for procurement.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.