FULokoja set to establish medicine, engineering faculties


The Senate of the Federal University Lokoja has approved the establishment of Faculties of Engineering and Medicine in the institution.

Following the approval, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Olayemi Akinwumi has inaugurated steering committees for the actualization of the faculties.

The steering committee for Faculty of Medicine was first to be inaugurated on May 28th, 2021.

About two months after, August 2nd, 2021, Professor Akinwumi has inaugurated a 13-man steering committee for the actualization of the Faculty of Engineering in the university.

The Vice-Chancellor in his remarks charged the constituted members of the committee to work hard and take advantage of the manufacturing industries within and outside the state.

He tasked them on the establishment of a world class Faculty of Engineering that would stand tall amongst comity of Universities in producing quality and high-tech manpower needed for the rapid development of Nigeria.

The Co-ordinator/Chairman of the Committee, Engr. Professor Lateef O. Onundi (who is from the University of Maiduguri on Sabbatical) and other members of the Committee who spoke at the event, thanked the University Management for the confidence reposed in them.

ALSO READ:  Lokoja varsity makes inaugural lectures prerequisite for professorship

He promised to bring their wealth of experiences to bear on the onerous task and complete the assignment within the stipulated period.

Membership of the Steering Committee drawn from various Institutions is as follows:

Engr. Prof. Lateef O. Onundi – Coordinator/Chairman,

Engr. Prof. John Adesiji Olorunmaiye – University of Ilorin – Member

Engr. Professor Olugbenga Abejide – ABU, Zaria – Member

Engr. Professor Salawu AbduRahman Asipita – FUT, Minna – Member

Engr. Professor Samuel Ndueso John – NDA, Kaduna – Member

Engr. Professor Jimoh Boyi – ABU, Zaria – Member,

Engr. Professor Abdulganiu Bakare – ATBU, Bauchi – Member

Engr. Professor Stephen Malo – UNIJOS – Member

Engr. Dr. Eyitayo Afolabi Representing

Engr. Professor Joseph O. Odigur -Rep. of COREN/FUT Minna – Member,

Engr. Dr. Shehu Shuaib AbdulAzeez – Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja – Member

Engr. Dr. Habeeb Bello Salau – ABU, Zaria – Member, and

Mr. Muhammed Jamiu Osihana – Senior Assistant Registrar (SAR), FUL to serve as the Secretary.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to: info@educeleb.com.
ALSO READ:  NMA commends new FULOKOJA VC for prioritising take-off of medical school

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.