Buhari approves ‘special salary scheme’ for Nigerian teachers

Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria's president

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved a special salary scale for teachers and number of years of service from 35 years to 40 years and retirement age to 65 years.

Minister of Education Adamu Adamu, who represented the President announced this in Abuja during the occasion of the 2020 World Teachers Day.

Buhari has accordingly instructed the Minister to facilitate the implementation of the new teachers’ salary scheme adding that the essence is to encourage the teachers in delivering better service.

The president also reintroduced bursary award to students in universities and colleges of education with assurance of automatic employment upon graduation.

He directed the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) to make financial provisions for teaching practice in universities and colleges of education.

Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu addressing teachers at the Presidential Teachers’ & Schools’ Excellence Award held at Eagles Square, Abuja on 5th October, 2020

President Buhari said the special packages was to attract and retain the best brains in the teaching profession and also encourage best graduates to take up careers in the teaching profession.

In order to motivate and restore the lost glory of teachers, the president also  approved the building of low cost houses for teachers in rural areas, expansion of annual Presidential Teachers and Schools Excellence Award to cover more categories and for outstanding winners to be considered for National Awards and National Productivity Order of Merit (NPOM) awards.

ALSO READ:  Makinde set to pay N1b for teachers’ 2018 leave bonus

“I have also ordered that there should be free tuition and automatic admission for biological children of teachers in their respective schools to encourage and retain them in the system.

“I have directed the Minister of Education to ensure accelerated implementation of these policies and measures in collaboration with states and local governments, office of head of service of the federation, national salaries, income and wages commission, and other relevant agencies.”

President, Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Dr Nasir Idris, in his remarks, described the packages as special teachers day gift from the President.

He assured him that more contributions would come from the teachers as regards the development of Nigeria.

Meanwhile, a teacher from Amoye Grammar School, Ikere Ekiti, Ekiti State, Asubiojo Henry Olaoluwa, was crowned as the best public secondary school teacher in Nigeria.

Also, Aliyu Alhasan from IPDI, Minna and Akpan Eno from St. Joseph’s CRS school, Iboko Offot, Uyo emerged first and second runners-up, respectively in the 2020 public school teachers award category.

Similarly, Istifanus Caroline, teacher from ECWA. L. Crawford, Kaltungo, Gombe State emerged the best private junior school teacher.

ALSO READ:  BREAKING: UNILAG lecturer jailed for 21 years for rape

Asubiojo Henry Olaoluwa and Caroline Istifanus were presented with brand new cars, in addition to award certificates, while different gift items were presented to other teachers who won different awards.

EduCeleb.com has published a full list of winners in the 2020 Presidential Teachers and Schools Excellence Award. See the full list here.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to: info@educeleb.com.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.