SSANU ex-VP emerges NLC Ogun chair


A former National Vice-President of the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), Emmanuel Bankole has been elected chairperson of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Ogun State branch.

Mr Bankole, a senior non-academic member of staff at the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) was elected during the labour election on Thursday in Abeokuta.

He had been an Agricultural Science teacher at Lagos State Model College Meiran between 1991 and 1995 before he later joined the services of FUNAAB in April 1995 as an Agricultural Superintendent and rose through the ranks until he was appointed in 2012 as a Director at the University.

He attended Salvation Army Primary School Dopemu, Agege between 1971 and 1977 for his primary education and Ansar-ud-deen College, Isolo between 1978 and 1983 for his secondary education.

Bankole proceeded to School of Agriculture Akure (now Federal College of Agriculture) from 1983 to 1985 for his National Diploma certificate in General Agriculture and had his Higher National Diploma (HND) certificate in the same field at the School of Agriculture, Moor Plantation, Ibadan (now Federal College of Agriculture Ibadan) in 1989.

ALSO READ:  Lagos students write public schools transfer screening test

Between the two diplomas, he joined the Ogun State Public Service as a Village Extension Agent in Imeko, with Ogun State Agricultural Development Programme from 1986 to 1987 and after the HND, he participated in the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) scheme in Benue State .

The unionist in Bankole had him serving in various positions over the years. He was Vice-chairman, NLC Ogun State Council between 2007 and 2011. Between 1999 and 2003, he was the SSANU FUNAAB Secretary and would later serve as Chairman of the same branch from 2003 to 2008.

At the national level, he served as Chairman, Credentials Committee Ogun NLC State Delegates Conference in 2011. He also served as Member, Federal Government of Nigeria – SSANU re-negotiation team between 2007 and 2009. He was also Member of the 2009 agreement implementation committee with members drawn from both the government and Non-Teaching Staff Unions of Nigerian Universities between 2011 and 2015.

He is bringing to the office his vast experience in many other areas too promising to ensure pension and gratuities are paid by the Ogun State government promptly.

ALSO READ:  UNICAL professor jailed for falsifying election results

He also pledged to “constructively engage the government for the stoppage of usurping of career positions and appointments of public servants by political appointees” among other agenda.

Other members of the executive elected are Mr Philip Abbey who would be serving as Vice-Chairman I while Mr Titilope Adebanjo would be Vice-Chairman II.

Mr Akeem Balogun would be the Ogun NLC Treasurer as Mr Fasiu Abiola is the Auditor I. The team also has Mrs Oyindamola Awonubi as the State Officio I.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.