FG inaugurates technical committee on alternate school programme

school children

Federal Government of Nigeria, on Tuesday, inaugurated a 33-member Technical Working Group to ensure the effective planning and implementation of the Alternate School Programme.

The Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Sadiya Umar Farouq, who inaugurated the Committee, during the 3rd meeting of the Alternate School Programme National Steering Committee, held at the instance of the Federal Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development.

Sadiya Umar Farouq, Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development

Farouq who expressed delight over the progress made so far tasked members of the newly inaugurated Technical Working Group to be mindful of the numerous benefits of the Alternate School Programme to Nigerian children, their households, their communities and the Nigerian economy.

She said, “Today’s inauguration of the TWG is to enable a successful implementation of this very critical programme. Through the Alternate School Programme, every child, irrespective of social, cultural or economic standing, can gain access to quality education, using the Federal Government’s Social Investment Programmes, as delivered through the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, to absorb certain socio-economic shocks that they may be exposed to.

“We believe that your participation and contribution will be invaluable to the success of the Alternate School Programme.”

ALSO READ:  Bridge International Academies is paving the way for post-pandemic African education

According to her, the Terms of Reference for the Technical Working Group include: Develop a strategic framework for the implementation of the ASP across the country; Design a comprehensive stakeholder mapping strategy to identify and ensure effective engagement for the successful delivery of the programme nationwide and Design the consultative and planning process for the effective take-off of the ASP Initiative.

She also admonished them to: Prepare a Statement of Work for consideration and approval by the ASP National Steering Committee; Ensure the effective and timely implementation of all approved fieldwork on the ASP and Design a comprehensive Monitoring, Evaluation and Impact Assessment Framework to enhance the effectiveness of the programme.

The Technical Working Group is also expected to: Conduct detailed analysis, prepare timely progress reports and submit proposals for enhancing the effectiveness of the Programme for the ASP-NSC consideration; Maintain comprehensive database and records on the implementation of the ASP; Undertake all other works and assignments as directed by the ASP-NSC to ensure successful implementation and impacts of the programme on Nigerians.

Members of the Technical Working Group were drawn from the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Ministry of Education, Ministry of State, Education, Ministry of Information and Culture, Ministry of Women Affairs, Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy, Ministry of State, Finance, Budget and National Planning, Office of the Senior Special Assistant to the President on the Sustainable Development Goals, National Youth Service Corps, Governors’ Forum, Northern Governors’ Forum, Southern Governors’ Forum, Universal Basic Education Commission, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund, Global Partnership for Education, Private Sector Advisory Group – SDGs and Civil Society Coalition on Sustainable Development.

ALSO READ:  A lot of 'out of school children' are in low cost schools - FCT NAPPS Chairman

Other members are from the Senate Committee on Basic Education; House Committee on Basic Education; Association of Local Governments of Nigeria; Senator Akon Etim Eyakenyi, Dr Shehu Balarabe Kakale; Hon Maigari Bello, National Identity Management Commission; National Orientation Agency; National Population Commission; National Bureau of Statistics; National Education Research and Development Council; Education Development Partners Group; Managing Director of Save the Children; NSU Microfinance Bank and Mrs Eke Nels.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please message us on WhatsApp via (+234) 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to: info@educeleb.com.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.