Federal University Dutse gets NUC approval for PhD, 30 new programmes


The Federal University Dutse (FUD) has secured approval from the National Universities Commission (NUC) to commence PhD programmes in seven courses from the 2018/2019 academic session. These are among the 37 new programmes that got the nod of the university regulatory body.

This is according to the Vice Chancellor of the university, Fatima Batul Mukhtar, in a recently published bulletin of the University.

EduCeleb.com recalls that FUD is one of the twelve universities established in 2011 under the President Goodluck Jonathan administration. The incumbent Vice Chancellor got appointed in 2016 by his successor, Muhammadu Buhari.

Professor Mukhtar disclosed that the approval followed a resource verification exercise conducted by a team of 50 professors from the NUC.

She listed the approved courses as Agricultural Extension, Agricultural Economics, Agriculture Business, Botany, Zoology, Microbiology and Physics.

The VC expressed a sense of fulfilment for achieving this mileage within the seven years of her administration.

In her words, “This, I must say, is the major achievement of this administration. The expanded programmed will deepen access to education and bring variety of course to prospective students.

Fatima Batul Mukhtar is the Vice Chancellor, Federal University Dutse 

She also disclosed that 37 undergraduate programmes got accredited too.

ALSO READ:  ASUU Strike: SERAP reports Nigerian government to UN

“I am happy to inform you that the result of the resource verification exercise for all the 37 programmes came back positive. I must confess that I don’t know of any university in recent times that had even ventured into presentation of such a number of academic programmes both at undergraduate and post graduate level for resource verification.”

She added that the university also got approval to run Master’s degree courses in 15 courses that in the Faculties of Agriculture, Science and Art and Social Science; and 11 undergraduates courses in Faculties of Art and Social Science, Computing and Management Sciences.

The 37 programmes are expected to begin student intake this session.

The Professor of Botany revealed that  the next target of the university was the establishment of a Faculty of Education.

See the list of newly approved courses below.

List of newly approved courses

Faculty of Agriculture

1. Agricultural Economics Msc
2. Agricultural Economics PhD
3. Agricultural Extension Msc
4. Agricultural Extension PhD
5 Agric Business Msc
6. Agric Business PhD

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

1. Developmental Economics
2. Developmental Economics PGD
3. Economics Msc.
4. English M.A
5. Linguistics (French) B.A
6. Linguistics (Arabic) B.A
7. Linguistics (English) B.A
8. Criminology & Security Studies PGD
9. Criminology & Security Studies Msc.

ALSO READ:  Nigeria Law School notifies students of resumption

Faculty Of Computing

1. Bsc. Software Engineering
2. Bsc Cyber Security
3. Bsc. Information technology

Faculty of Management Sciences

1. Bsc. Actuarial science
2. Bsc. Accounting
3. Bsc. Taxation
4. Bsc. Banking & Finance
5. Bsc. Business Administration

Faculty of Science

1. Computer Science M Sc.
2. Botany M Sc
3. Botany PhD
4. Zoology Msc
5. Zoology PhD
6. Microbiology PGD
7. Microbiology M Sc
8. Microbiology PhD
9. Chemistry M Sc
10 Applied Mathematics PGD
11. Applied Mathematics Msc
12. Physics M Sc
13. Physics PhD

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.