ASUU UI elects new leaders

NTI PGDE registration
Join our Google Group

The Congress of the University of Ibadan branch of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has elected new leaders.

This is as the tenure of those in charge led by Professor Deji Omole ended.

Elected unopposed as the new Chairman of ASUU UI is Professor Ayo Akinwole.

Akinwole, a professor of Aquaculture Engineering and Water Resources take over from Omole who had served two terms.

Also elected unopposed are Drs Femi Afolabi as Vice Chairman, Chris Omoregie as Secretary, both Seun Garba as Assistant Secretary and Kazeem Olaniyan as Assistant Secretaries.

Also on the executive membership are Sarah Akintola as Treasurer and Femi Akewula as the Financial Secretary.

Kehinde Soetan would be in charge of Investment and Funke Adegoke in charge of Welfare.

While Ajibade Tayo would manage Publicity for the union, and Dapo Okareh is the Internal Auditor of ASUU UI.

The new executives were unveiled at the Biennial Congress of the Union held at ASUU Secretariat, Ajibode.

The Chairman, electoral committee, Professor Akin Alada said the elected satisfied all the provisions of ASUU constitution and were returned elected.

ALSO READ:  UI hosts conference to celebrate Falola at 65

The Zonal Coordinator, Dr Ade Adejumo who inaugurated the new exco tasked them to be ready to fight executive tyranny in Nigeria and ensure that the children of the masses are not sidelined.

The new chairman, Professor Akinwole affirmed that Union will continue to stand with the masses and fight for publicly funded education.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to 09052129258, 08124662170 or send an email to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.